Facebook’s New Feature Makes It Easier for You to Deal With a Breakup
Categories: Relationships

Facebook’s New Feature Makes It Easier for You to Deal With a Breakup

We’ve all been to heartbreak city before where we blast Adele on repeat, go through boxes of Kleenex and just stalk our exes on social media. It’s a dangerous spiral that’s all too familiar. Facebook stalking might just be on of the worst things you can do to yourself post-breakup, because inevitably, you find yourself obsessing and feeling worse. Facebook is rolling out a brand new feature that aims to end stalking your ex online for good. Plus it’ll give you the mental distance to get back to a good place.

When you now end a relationship on Facebook and change your relationship status from “In a Relationship” to “Single” *sob*, the site/app will prompt you to try out some new tools. Without having to “unfriend” your ex — you know, in case someday the two of you want to attempt to be friends again? — you can choose to either see less of your former S.O. or block all mentions of them all together on the app. You’ll no longer see their posts in your News Feed and there’s the added bonus of not having their name suggested when you’re writing a message or are tagging photos.

You can also limit how much your ex will be seeing of you — including tagged posts of you, your photos, videos and more. According to Facebook’s blog, they implemented this tool in an “ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives. We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.”

We appreciate it, Facebook.

What do you think about Facebook’s latest feature? Tell us in the comments below!