14 Must-Read Adult Fiction + Non-Fiction Books Out in June
Categories: Creativity

14 Must-Read Adult Fiction + Non-Fiction Books Out in June

What pairs perfectly with a sweet rooftop bar, a refreshing boozy slushy and colorful statement sunglasses? An awesome summer read, of course! Sure, you could always grab that dusty copy of Moby Dick you’ve been telling yourself you’re going to read for years, but we think it’s time to mix it up with something a little trendier. Here are the 14 must-read adult books that hit the shelves this month.

1. I Almost Forgot About You: A Novel by Terry McMillan ($18): We’ve all thought about quitting our day job, moving out of our grungy apartment and living the high life for a while — but for Dr. Georgia Young that dream is a reality. Terry McMillian slays it again in this heartwarming tale.

2. Foreign Agent: A Thriller by Brad Thor ($20): If you’re looking for one of those books you end up staying awake until 2am reading, check out Thor’s latest thriller. Following the exciting life of CIA contractor Scot Harvath, Thor’s epic telling of an international terrorism play has all the trimmings of a classic nail biter.

3. The Girls: A Novel by Emma Cline ($16): Everyone is talking about the debut novel from youngster Emma Cline, and for good reason. 1960s meets charming cult leaders meets the intricacies of growing up… let’s just say it’s definitely worth the investment.

4. Vinegar Girl: A Novel by Anne Tyler ($19): This isn’t your grandmother’s Shakespeare. With eccentric scientists, pre-school drama and enough LOLs to keep you belly-laughing throughout, this The Taming of the Shrew adaptation will make you a fan of the Bard yet.

5. They May Not Mean to, but They Do: A Novel by Cathleen Schine ($17): A brilliant novel on the complex pathos of growing older, this inter-generational story is both hilarious and heartfelt at the same time.

6. Sex Object: A Memoir by Jessica Valenti ($20): Girlboss columnist, superstar author and women’s rights advocate Jessica Valenti explores modern sexism in this tell-all that every woman should read at least once.

7. The Girl from the Savoy: A Novel by Hazel Gaynor ($9): Are you missing a little Great Gatsby glamour in your life? Check out the latest from Hazel Gaynor — not only will you be completely immersed in a jazzy spectacle from the first page, but the underdog storyline will leave you rooting for Dolly Lane’s dreams like she was your bestie.

8. One True Loves: A Novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid ($9): If you read this title and thought to yourself, “Hey wait; isn’t that’s a typo?” I have two things to say to you. One, we should be friends. Two, Taylor Jenkins Reid’s heartwarming tale of a choice between two loves might just convince you otherwise.

9. Every Little Step: My Story by Bobby Brown and Nick Chiles ($21): R&B fans and pop culture junkies, rejoice! In his much-anticipated memoir, Bobby Brown details everything from the highs of his career to his media-frenzied marriage to Whitney Houston.

10. Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years by D.L. Hughley ($18): If you’re looking for a serious analysis on the Obama administration, this probably isn’t the book for you. The newest addition from rockstar comedian D.L. Hughley is a satirical and hilarious take on Obama’s last two terms. It’ll make any fan of late night TV roll over with laughter.

11. The Space Between Sisters: A Butternut Lake Novel by Mary McNear ($9): Fans of the Butternut Lake series will swoon for McNear’s latest novel, set during the dog days of summer. A classic tale of sisters with opposite personalities, this light read pairs perfectly with a mai tai, a lightly swaying hammock and a beautiful summer sunset.

12. Love Wins: The Lovers and Lawyers Who Fought the Landmark Case for Marriage Equality by Debbie Cenziper and Jim Obergefell ($21): Using insider accounts never previously publicized, this definitive history of the Supreme Court case that legalized gay marriage in all 50 US states is not to be missed.

13. Marked for Life by Emelie Schepp ($21): From the brilliant, dark mind of Nordic crime author Emelie Schepp comes this police drama tailor-made for fans of Law and Order: SVU. Told from the tragic mind of public prosecutor Jana Berzelius, it’s a gut-wrenching story about a haunting past that just might make you sweat.

14. Barkskins: A Novel by Annie Proulx ($22): Following the incredible success of Brokeback Mountain and The Shipping News, Annie Proulx’s must-anticipated epic is definitely worth the wait. Spanning numerous generations over three hundred years, Proulx’s masterwork is ecologically relevant and beautifully told.

What are you reading this June? Tweet us a pic by mentioning @BritandCo.  

Brit + Co may at times use affiliate links to promote products sold by others, but always offers genuine editorial recommendations.

(Featured image via Getty)