Uber is one of those companies that keeps doing weird 鈥 though admittedly usually useful 鈥 stuff. They鈥檝e been working on growing their self-driving program (which might eventually fly to pick you up), and they recently announced Beacon, a gadget that ensures you won鈥檛 get in the wrong car (awk!). Their latest announcement is, true to form, weird.

uber-feat

Uber to Person is the newest feature, which allows you to type in a person鈥檚 name (just make sure the app is updated and you鈥檝e allowed it to access your contacts) instead of an address. Your friend will then receive a notification asking them to share their location for 30 minutes, after which time it expires. The best part is they don鈥檛 even need to have the Uber app for this to work; it can be done through their browser. No more back-and-forths like 鈥渨here are you?鈥 鈥淎t Starbucks.鈥 鈥淲hich Starbucks?鈥濃 you get the idea.

Uber to Person also includes an integration with Snapchat. If both you and your friend have Snapchat (seriously though, who doesn鈥檛?), you鈥檒l see new filters pop up in the app while you鈥檙e on your Uber ride. These filters let you send colorful ETAs to your pal so they know when you鈥檒l arrive. Pretty useful, although a text might be quicker.

The only downside to all this 鈥 besides sharing your location 鈥 is that once you plug in your friend鈥檚 name and they accept the request for their location, they can鈥檛 move from that spot. Otherwise, you鈥檒l just be dropped off at an empty location. Oops.

Uber to Person is rolling out to everyone starting today.

Will you use Uber to Person? Have you already tried it? Let us know @BritandCo!

(h/t Mashable, photos via Getty)