10 New Heartfelt Reads for the Hopeless Romantic
Categories: Creativity

10 New Heartfelt Reads for the Hopeless Romantic

Falling in love with a new book is always a welcome surprise, and we’ve fallen head over heels for these romantic titles. There’s no reason to be alone this Valentine’s Day when you can spend some QT with the alluring characters in these new novels. Pour yourself a glass (or two) of wine and get cozy with these heartfelt books about second chances, soulmates, and finding love when you least expect it.

1. Things to Do When It’s Raining by Marissa Stapley ($16): For fans of This Is Us and Dawson’s Creek, Stapley’s newest women’s fiction novel is a touching read about returning home. When Mae Summers’ fiancé walks away from their upcoming marriage and she loses her job, Mae knows the only place she can start over is in her hometown. But when she arrives, she finds things have drastically changed in her absence. Struggling to put her family back together on her own, Mae will confide in her first love and together they’ll begin a path to healing and reconciling family secrets from their pasts. Things to Do When It’s Raining will bring a bit of sunshine to the chilly winter months.  

2. Best Laid Plans by Brenda Jackson ($8): The pressure to fall in love is on for Nolan and Ivy in Best Laid Plans. They may be exact opposites of one another, but that won’t keep their families from setting them up. As a result, they both agree to pretend to be a couple in order to escape the pressure from their relatives. As their fake relationship starts turning into something real and a man from Ivy’s past returns with a plan to win her back, Ivy and Nolan will have to decide if their feelings for each other are worth fighting for. A family drama and romance story wrapped into one, Jackson’s latest release will tug at your heartstrings long after the final page.   

3. All We Knew by Jamie Beck ($13): Hunter and Sara have always felt confident in their marriage, waiting to have children until they felt content in their careers, but when Hunter’s work begins to get in the way of starting a family, their once perfect marriage will begin to suffer. As the devastating news of infertility starts to set in, Sara will need Hunter more than ever, and he’ll have to find a way to save both his company and his marriage before it’s too late. This imperfect relationship will have hopeless romantics rooting for the troubled couple from start to finish.

4. More Than Words by Mia Sheridan ($15): Despite years of separation, Jessica Creswell will never forget the connection she once had with the now famous composer, Callen Hayes. When Callen hits a roadblock in his career, fate will bring the two back together, and he’ll learn that she’s the inspiration he’s needed all along. But their lives have changed since they were 11 years old, and their second chance at love is clouded by secrets and lies that neither can ignore. More Than Words is a complex love story of finding your way back to your soulmate and the consequences of lies.

5. Dreaming in Chocolate by Susan Bishop Crispell ($16): A magical story about the bond between mother and daughter, Dreaming in Chocolate is the perfect blend of romance and heart. Fighting an incurable disease, Ella makes one final request of her mother in the last few months of her life: for Ella to get a dad. As she makes this wish, her biological father, Noah, breezes into town once more, unaware that the bright-eyed Ella is really his daughter. Will Penelope finally give her daughter the father she’s always wanted or will the potential for heartbreak be too much for her to risk?

6. Bad Men and Wicked Women by Eric Jerome Dickey ($27): In this thrilling romance novel, Ken Swift is caught up in a world of complicated women. Just when Ken thinks he has enough to handle with his ex-wife and new lover, his estranged daughter will show up with news of her pregnancy, demanding $50,000 — and she’s not opposed to blackmailing him for it. Juggling his intricate love life and dangerous threats from spiteful enemies, Ken will have to find a way to protect the people he loves in Bad Men and Wicked Women, a book for romantics who crave something a bit more chilling.

7. The Summer of New Beginnings by Bette Lee Crosby ($15): Life is currently testing sisters Meghan and Tracy, bringing them both back to their hometown to rediscover themselves. While Tracy does her best to adjust to being a single mother, Meghan will do everything she can to avoid getting attached to anyone or anything. As Meghan works to salvage her father’s business, she’ll come across a lost dog and soon finds herself falling for him… and the hunky vet in town. This novel highlights the importance of family, new beginnings, and finding love — the perfect book to spend a sunny spring afternoon with.

8. Broken Beautiful Hearts by Kami Garcia ($19): When Peyton Rios’s dreams of playing collegiate soccer are ruined by a tragic accident and a painful breakup, she picks up her life and moves to Tennessee to stay with her uncle. Her idea of focusing on nothing but her recovery fails when she meets an irresistible local boy, Owen Law, who sweeps her off her feet in a way she had never imagined. Kami Garcia’s latest YA novel is a touching story of finding love when you least expect it.

9. Song of Isabel by Ida Curtis ($17): Eight years ago, Lady Isabel never thought that the man who saved her from a band of vicious warriors would later become her husband. Brought back together by an arranged marriage, Isabel and her Prince Charming will embark on a dangerous expedition to the court of King Louis, where they’ll be confronted by trials that will threaten their newly formed bond. In this historical fiction romance novel, the new couple will learn the true meaning of love and connection amidst powers that will try to break them apart.

10. By the Book by Julia Sonneborn ($16): Anne Corey knows exactly what she needs to accomplish if she’s going to make tenure, but when her ex-fiancé gets hired as the college’s new president, her carefully laid plans will be thrown into chaos. Juggling her career, a fling with the school’s gorgeous writer-in-residence, and old feelings she has for the man who broke her heart, Anne will begin to think that a second chance at love with Adam is possible after all. This modern retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion will steal the hearts of those who can’t get enough of classic love stories.

What love story have you recently fallen for? Tweet us @BritandCo to share your pick.

Brit + Co may at times use affiliate links to promote products sold by others, but always offers genuine editorial recommendations.