8 Simple Ways to Protect Your Personal Info on Facebook
Categories: Tech

8 Simple Ways to Protect Your Personal Info on Facebook

We all use Facebook, even our grandparents. While some of us are total FB pros, others probably don’t have the slightest clue about all of the things they are sharing with the Internet. There’s nothing wrong with that, but it’s time to step up your security game so you aren’t oversharing on the Internet too much.

Whether you identify as a low-key or loud-and-proud privacy police member, you are sure to Like, not Dislike, the following eight ways to better protect your personal information on Facebook. Check out the tips below, then get busy implementing them into your own social media routine to get your FB on proper lockdown.

1. Run a Privacy Checkup

What Is It? Facebook Privacy Checkup is a feature that walks you through a quick three-step process, giving you the ability to make sure only the people you want can see your stuff. Within this checkup, you can review who you’re posting to, which apps you’re using and the privacy of key pieces of information on your profile.

How to Do It: To access the Privacy Checkup on desktops, just click on the lock in the upper right-hand corner of your screen. For mobile devices, tap “More” on your profile when in the Facebook app and it will take you to Privacy Shortcuts. Then simply follow the commands given to upgrade your Facebook’s privacy.

2. Run a Security Checkup

What is it? The Security Checkup tool is similar to Privacy Checkup, hence the complementary names. This one helps you quickly and easily access various security controls, like logging out of unused devices, setting up login alerts and suggesting stronger, more unique passwords.

How to Do It: Head to Facebook’s Help Center right here, click the “Start Security Checkup” button and follow the prompts to make your profile more secure in three easy steps.

3. Turn on Login Approvals

What is It? Also known as two-factor authentication, this is one of the most important ways to maximize security on your account. With login approvals, there’s an extra security step whenever logging in on a new device, where a special code will be emailed or texted to you to complete the process, ensuring only the person that should be logging in (you) is doing that.

How to Do It: To turn on login approvals on the FB app, simply tap “More” then “Settings.” On desktops, go straight to “Settings.” From there, select “Security Settings” on either platform and check the box next to “Login Approvals” to turn that feature on, immediately tightening your Facebook’s security level.

4. Use a One-Time Password

What is It? This feature was created for those times when you may feel uncomfortable about entering your real password into a new device (i.e. at a library). By using a one-time password, you’re able to log into your account without those uneasy feels.

How to Do It: All you’ve gotta do is text “otp” to 32665 and Facebook will provide a temporary 8-character passcode for you to use instead of your real password. Keep in mind this password only works for 20 minutes and cannot be reused.

5. Set Your Trusted Contacts

What is It? Trusted contacts are friends you can reach out to if you ever need help accessing your Facebook account because for some reason you forgot your FB password and can’t access your email account. If you’ve got trusted contacts in place, they will receive special, one-time security codes from Facebook which you can get from them to restore access to your account.

How to Do It: To list your trustworthy people, head to your “Security Settings,” click “Trusted Contacts” and then select three to five friends you know you can turn to in social media emergencies.

6. Control What Info You’re Sharing With Apps via Facebook Login

What is It? Ever logged into an app using your Facebook account? Yes, duh. With Facebook’s newly redesigned Facebook Login page for apps, you can now quickly and easily control what info you’re providing to the app (such as your Likes, photos, birthday, hometown, etc.) without feeling in the dark about what’s being shared.

How to Do It: When logging into an app using Facebook Login, click “Edit the Info You Provide,” which will bring you to a list of all the personal info a specific app is requesting from you. Then it’s your decision to check or uncheck each piece of information, line by line, to control what you share with the app.

7. Double-Check the Apps Connected to Your Facebook Account

What is It? If you use Facebook Login to log into apps with your Facebook account, it’s a good idea to periodically review the apps you have connected to your account. This helps ensure you’re only connecting your Facebook account to apps that you trust and use regularly.

How to Do It: Simply visit your App Settings page on Facebook to review all of the apps you’ve connected to your account. If you find some that you don’t use anymore, easily disconnect those apps from accessing your Facebook account using the controls on the App Settings page.

8. Get to Know Your Activity Log

What is It? Feel like you posted or Liked something accidentally? The Activity Log will set your mind at ease and allow you to edit those errors. Your Activity Log includes all your Facebook activities, organized by the date they happened. This could include posts you’ve Liked, posts you’ve commented on, friend requests you’ve accepted, check-ins, photos you’ve been tagged in, etc. and only you can see it.

How to Do It: Visit your profile and click “View Activity Log” in the bottom-right corner of your cover photo. Then get to work!

Did you know about all of these privacy and security Facebook features? Which have you been using and which will you start implementing into your Facebook routine? Let us know in the comments.

(Photo via Facebook)